Success for Wolverhampton Voluntary Organisations - Wolverhampton Voluntary Sector Council

by James Clarke
1 month ago
195 Views

Success for Wolverhampton Voluntary Organisations

An innovative partnership of 15 Wolverhampton Voluntary Sector Organisations and the Black Country NHS Trust, focusing on the development of skills and employability has supported over 300 local people in the past two months, with hundreds more expected to benefit in the months ahead.

The Skills Connect Partnership is a Government-funded project, administered by the West Midlands Combined Authority, which has received over £700K from the Community Renewal Fund (CRF) – (a pilot for the Shared Prosperity Fund, which will replace funding from the EU).

The partnership is led by Wolverhampton Voluntary Sector Council (WVSC) and is one of only 8 projects funded by the CRF in the West Midland Region.

Ian Darch, CEO of WVSC said “we have a brilliant and diverse partnership, working across all our communities to help ensure that everyone can get the support they need.  Delivery partners expressed their enthusiasm: Suffia Perveen from the Ethnic Minority Council stressed the importance of “working together for a better tomorrow”; Adam Bhardwaj is delighted that Bilston Resource Centre has had the opportunity to make a difference through this project and said, “it has enabled us to deliver innovative programmes in the community, particularly youth aged 16+.” While Maria Billington from Gatis Community Space highlighted the opportunity to “put people’s needs first”.

The Haven are using the funds to support victims of domestic abuse to rebuild their lives and TLC College are delivering activities to introduce customers to work in “early years”.  Sarah Abbiss and Mahmood Khan from those organisations both stressed the importance of the project to local communities.  This was supported by the Director of Beacon Centre for the blind, Ian Burns MBE who said: “we are proud to be working alongside our community partners to make a difference “and Stephanie Mackey of the Black Country Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust stressed the importance of the project in providing “great new opportunities for people within our communities to develop their skills within employment”.

To find out more about the project, including how to benefit from the support available, please contact Gurpreet Sahota at WVSC on: gsahota@wolverhamptonvsc.org.uk or any of the project partners listed below.

 

Partners of the Wolverhampton Skills Connect Partnership:

Access to Business – Simon Moore Simon@access2business.co.uk

Aladdin’s Education Ltd – Yusuf Shafi achieve@aladdinseducation.com

Arise Training – Maxine megwlv@outlook.com

Aspiring Futures CIC – Sofia Haider Sofia.Haider@aspiring-futures.co.uk

Beacon Centre – Helen Brown HBrown@beaconvision.org

Bilston Resource Centre – Adam Bhardwaj adam.bhardwaj@btconnect.com

Black Country NHS Trust – Stephanie Henderson stephanie.henderson3@nhs.net

Ethnic Minority Council – Suffia Perveen sperveen@ethnicminoritycouncil.org

Gatis Community Space – Maria Billington gatisgardeners@gmail.com

Jobchange – Pat Kemp pat.kemp@jobchange2007.com

The Haven Wolverhampton – Sarah Abbiss Sarah.Abbiss@havenrefuge.org.uk

The Refugee and Migrant Centre – Steven Bayliss steven@rmcentre.org.uk

The Workers’ Educational Association – Ian Cooper icooper@wea.org.uk

TLC College – Mahmood Khan mkhan@tlccollege.org.uk

YMCA Black Country Group – Louise Kumar louise.kumar@ymcabc.org.uk